Particularities

Territorial scope of the Green Card in general

The Green Card contains a field which includes letters for several countries. The field only displays the letters of States whose national Bureaux are members of the Green Card System. It shows the complete territorial scope of the Green Card.

The insurer who emits the Green Card is free to exclude specific countries from cover. The insurer excludes the territory of a state from cover by crossing its letters out. Before going on a trip abroad, it is therefore important to check if the corresponding country code is displayed on the Green Card and not crossed out.

However, Swiss insurance companies are not allowed to exclude the States of the registration plate agreement from insurance cover and to cross out their codes on the Green Card (art. 63 par. 2 of the road traffic act SVG). This is of lesser importance nowadays, as the registration plate delivered by one of these States certifies sufficient MTPL cover when entering the territory of another country of the registration plates agreement.

Particularities within the territorial scope of the Green Card

The Green Card does not provide any cover for the territory of Kosovo. When entering Kosovo, the local authorities demand the conclusion of a frontier insurance policy. The other way round, drivers of vehicles registered in Kosovo also have to conclude frontier insurance policies when entering the territories of Green Card countries or the European Economic Area.

A precondition for considering a possible future Green Card cover for this territory consists in the accession of a forthcoming bureau of insurance of Kosovo to the Green Card System. For this, this bureau would have to become a member of the Council of Bureaux (CoB). However, the constitution of the CoB only permits the membership of bureaux from countries which are UN members. The declaration of independence of Kosovo alone does not fulfil this condition. The UN cannot admit Kosovo among its members before the country has not been recognised by the majority of the international community. This is the reason why the territory of Kosovo still remains excluded from the territorial scope of the Green Card.

Please note:
Neither Swiss insurance companies nor the Swiss National Bureau of Insurance (NBI) are competent for dealing with demands for refund of frontier insurance policies issued in Kosovo. Requests for Information and demands for refund concerning Kosovar frontier insurance have to be addressed to the Kosovo Insurance Bureau.

Kosovo Insurance Bureau
Fazli Grajqevci Nr.6
Prishtina 10000 Kosova

Office: +381 38 245 110
Fax: +381 38 245 110

> Kosovo Insurance Bureau

The Association - National Bureau of Montenegro Insurers became a member of the Council of Bureaux effective 1 January 2012. The accession of the Montenegrin bureau is a direct consequence of the Serbian bureau's signature of the multilateral agreement. Since 1 January 2012, the Serbian bureau, which had previously been responsible for Montenegro, has ceded its authority for the Republic of Montenegro to the new insurance bureau. Proof of sufficient Green Card cover for Montenegro depends now on whether - when crossing the border - drivers can present a Green Card where the letters for Montenegro (MNE) have not been crossed out (subject to transitional regulations; cf. also provisions stated below).

The letters MNE must be stated on Green Cards issued by Swiss and Liechtenstein insurance companies. Additionally, Green Cards must also contain the exact name and address of the Montenegrin office on the reverse. In the case that no cover is to be provided for Montenegro, the letters MNE are to be crossed out by the insurance company issuing the card. If the applicable terms of contract do not provide cover for Montenegro and the letters are not crossed out, full coverage must still be provided in accordance with the provisions of the Green Card system in relation not only to the injured parties but also to the insurance bureau.

New Green Cards issued by Montenegrin insurance companies must bear the letters CH for Switzerland and Liechtenstein. This can only be crossed out along with the entire EEA field. The EEA is regarded as a combined insurance area pursuant to European motor vehicle legislation. Switzerland is included in this area by virtue of its geographical location and the fact that its bureau of insurance also bears responsibility for Liechtenstein.

Important transitional provisions:
There may be Green Cards, which do not contain the letters MNE yet, but on which the letters SRB are not crossed out. They continue to give sufficient cover for Montenegro even after the 1.1.2012 for the whole duration of the validity period stated on the Card.

The country code CH provides cover for the Swiss territory as well as the territory of Liechtenstein. The Swiss Bureau is fulfilling the task of the insurance bureau of Liechtenstein. In the context of the Green Card, Switzerland and the Principality of Liechtenstein are understood as one single territory. The country code CH on the card implies that both territories are covered.

During its General Assembly held on May 28th 2015 in Sopot (Poland), the Council of Bureaux (CoB) has admitted the Insurance Bureau of Azerbaijan as 47th member of the Green Card System as per 1st January 2016.

As of 1st January 2016, vehicles registered in Azerbaijan may circulate with green cards which are valid within the whole Green Card System (and accordingly also in Switzerland and Liechtenstein). These vehicles do not require frontier insurance cover any more when entering the territories of Switzerland and Liechtenstein, provided that their green card is valid.

As of 1st January 2016 too, the member companies of the Swiss National Bureau of Insurance (NBI) are authorised to issue green cards containing the country code AZ for Azerbaijan. A per 1st January 2018, this country code will become compulsory. Member companies are entitled to exclude the cover for Azerbaijan by crossing out the country code AZ on the green cards they are issuing.

Particularités

Champ d'application territorial de la Carte verte en général

La Carte verte comporte un champ dans lequel figurent les sigles de divers Etats. Sont affichés uniquement les sigle des Etats dont les bureaux d'assurance sont membres du système Carte verte. Ce champ représente l'ensemble du champ d'application territorial de la Carte verte.

L'assureur émetteur de la Carte verte est libre d'exclure certains Etats de la couverture. Il exclut le territoire d'un Etat de la couverture en biffant son sigle. Avant un voyage à l'étranger, il faut par conséquent toujours vérifier si le sigle de l'Etat sur le territoire duquel on se rend figure sur la Carte verte et s'il n'a pas été biffé.

Les compagnies d'assurance suisses n'ont toutefois pas le droit d'exclure le territoire des Etats de la convention sur l'immatriculation de la couverture d'assurance et de les biffer sur la Carte verte (art. 63 al. 2 LCR). La portée pratique de cette interdiction s'avère toutefois de moindre importance de nos jours, puisque la plaque d'immatriculation délivrée par l'un de ces Etats atteste une couverture d'assurance responsabilité civile suffisante lors de l'entrée du véhicule dans un autre Etat de la convention d'immatriculation.

Particularités dans le champ d'application territorial de la Carte verte

La Carte verte n'accorde aucune couverture pour le territoire du Kosovo. Lors de l'entrée sur le territoire du Kosovo, les autorités locales exigent la conclusion d'une assurance frontière. A l'inverse, cela vaut également pour les véhicules immatriculés au Kosovo. Ceux-ci doivent également être couverts par une assurance frontière conclue lors de l'entrée sur le territoire des pays du système de la Carte verte ou sur le territoire de l'UE/EEE.

Une condition préalable pour envisager à l'avenir une couverture Carte verte pour ce territoire serait l'adhésion d'un futur bureau du Kosovo au système Carte verte. Il faudrait pour cela que ce bureau devienne membre du Conseil des Bureaux (CoB). Or, les statuts du CoB permettent uniquement l'adhésion de bureaux qui représentent des Etats membres de l'ONU. A elle seule, la déclaration d'indépendance du Kosovo ne remplit pas cette condition. Afin que l'ONU puisse admettre le Kosovo parmi ses membres, il faudrait que cette indépendance ait été reconnue par la majorité de la communauté internationale. Pour cette raison, ce territoire reste à l'heure actuelle en dehors du champ d'application du système de la carte internationale d'assurance. La Carte verte n'est donc pas valable pour le Kosovo.

A noter:
Ni les assureurs en Suisse ni le Bureau National Suisse d'Assurance (BNA) ne sont compétents pour les demandes de remboursement concernant les assurances frontière conclues lors de l'entrée au Kosovo. Les demandes de renseignement et de remboursement en rapport avec l'assurance frontière du Kosovo peuvent être adressées au Bureau du Kosovo sous l'adresse suivante.

Kosovo Insurance Bureau
Fazli Grajqevci Nr.6
Prishtina 10000 Kosova

Office: +381 38 245 110
Fax: +381 38 245 110

> Bureau du Kosovo

Lors de son Assemblée générale des 27 et 28.5.2011 à Dubrovnik, le CoB a admis le Bureau du Monténégro (Association - National Bureau of Montenegro Insurers) en qualité de 46ème membre de l'association avec effet au 1.1.2012. L'admission du Bureau du Monténégro est la conséquence directe de l'adhésion du Bureau de Serbie à l'Accord Multilatéral. Dès le 1.1.2012, le Bureau de Serbie, qui était jusque là compétent pour le territoire du Monténégro, a abandonné ses compétences au profit du nouveau bureau d'assurances du Monténégro. A partir de cette date, la preuve d'une couverture suffisante aux termes du système de la Carte verte dépend de la présentation, lors de l'entrée sur le territoire du Monténégro, d'une Carte verte pourvue d'un sigle MNE non rayé (sous réserve des dispositions transitoires; cf. ci-dessous).

Le sigle MNE doit obligatoirement figurer sur les Cartes vertes émises par les compagnies suisses et liechtensteinoises. La Carte verte doit également contenir la désignation exacte et l'adresse du Bureau du Monténégro sur son verso. Si une compagnie souhaite exclure le territoire du Monténégro de la couverture d'assurance, elle doit délivrer une carte sur laquelle le sigle MNE a été rayé au préalable. Dans les cas dans lesquels les CGA applicables excluent la couverture pour le Monténégro, mais où le sigle n'a pas été rayé, la compagnie est tenue malgré tout, en cas de sinistre, de reconnaître une couverture Carte verte intégrale envers le lésé et les bureaux d'assurance concernés.

Disposition transitoire importante:
Les anciennes Cartes vertes, qui ne contiennent pas encore le sigle MNE, mais sur lesquelles le sigle SRB n'a pas été rayé, continuent à conférer une couverture suffisante pour le Montenegro même après le 1.1.2012, et ce jusqu'à échéance de la durée de validité qui y est indiquée.

Le sigle CH figurant sur la Carte verte couvre à la fois le territoire Suisse et le territoire du Liechtenstein. Le Bureau Suisse exerce également la fonction de Bureau liechtensteinois. Dans le cadre du système de la Carte verte, aucune différence n'est faite entre le territoire de la Suisse et celui de la Principauté de Liechtenstein.

Au cours de son Assemblée générale qui s’est tenue le 28 mai 2015 à Sopot (Pologne), le Conseil des Bureaux (CoB) a admis le Bureau d’assurance de l’Azerbaïdjan en tant que 47ème membre du Système de la Carte verte avec effet au 1er janvier 2016.

A partir du 1er janvier 2016, les véhicules immatriculés en Azerbaïdjan peuvent circuler avec des cartes vertes valables pour la totalité du Système de la Carte verte (et donc également pour les territoires de la Suisse et du Liechtenstein). Ces véhicules ne nécessitent plus d’assurance-frontière lors de l’entrée sur les territoires suisses et liechtensteinois, à condition que la carte verte présentée doive-t-être considérée comme étant valable en vertu des règles applicables.

Egalement à partir du 1er janvier 2016, les compagnies membres du Bureau National Suisse d’Assurance (BNA) sont autorisées à émettre des cartes vertes contenant le sigle AZ pour l’Azerbaïdjan. A partir du 1er janvier 2018, ce sigle deviendra obligatoire. Les compagnies membres peuvent exclure la couverture pour l’Azerbaïdjan en rayant le sigle AZ sur les cartes vertes émises par leurs soins.