International Agreements

ZURICH I and II Agreements

The NGF concluded the bilateral ZURICH I Guarantee Funds Agreement with a number of EU partner bureaux in the 1990s. This agreement was a predecessor of the ZURICH II Guarantee Funds Agreement, which has been signed later in collaboration with the Comité Européen des Assurances (CEA) and the Swiss Federal authorities between the NGF and the guarantee funds of the EEA member states.

The agreement ensures improved protection of injured parties within the EEA and Switzerland. If accidents involve unknown or uninsured motor vehicles, nationals of, as well as those with the right of residence in, Switzerland or the Principality of Liechtenstein will be treated in all EEA member states according to the same regulations as the ones that apply to the residents of those countries. Nationals of, and those with the right of residence in, an EEA member state can expect equal treatment by the NGF as received by Swiss residents.

ZURICH III Agreement

The aim is now to sign the Guarantee Funds Agreement with non-EEA countries as well (ZURICH III Guarantee Funds Agreement). In order to have a single name and to avoid misunderstandings, the ZURICH III Agreement will supersede the ZURICH II Agreement in the medium term. This will require the countries that have signed the ZURICH II Agreement to sign the new ZURICH III Agreement. As long as this process is not completed, the ZURICH II Agreement will continue to apply.

The NGF has signed the so called ZURICH III Agreements with the Guarantee Funds of the non-EEA countries listed below.

  • Ukraine (on 09.05.2014)
  • Turkey (on 01.11.2014)

Conventions internationales

Convention de ZURICH I et II

Le FNG a signé l'accord bilatéral Convention de ZURICH I entre fonds de garantie avec certains bureaux partenaires européens dans les années 90. Cet accord était un modèle précurseur pour la Convention de ZURICH II, que le FNG a conclu plus tard en collaboration avec le Comité Européen des Assurances (CEA) et les autorités fédérales avec les Fonds de Garantie des Etats membres de l’EEE.

Cette convention a pour objectif d’améliorer la protection des lésés au sein de l’Espace Economique Européen et en Suisse. Les citoyens Suisses et les ressortissants de la Principauté de Liechtenstein ainsi que les personnes qui résident dans ces Etats sont, en cas d’accident survenant dans un Etat de l’EEE impliquant un véhicule non identifié ou non assuré, traités de la même manière que les ressortissants de ces Etats. A l’inverse, les ressortissants des Etats membres de l’EEE ou les personnes qui y résident disposent des mêmes droits envers le FNG que les ressortissants ou les résidents suisses et liechtensteinois.

Convention de ZURICH III

Actuellement, l’objectif est de signer également la Convention des Fonds de Garantie avec les Etats ne faisant pas partie de l’EEE (Convention de ZURICH III entre fonds de garantie). En vue de garantir une désignation uniforme et d’éviter des malentendus, la Convention de ZURICH III devrait remplacer à moyen terme la Convention de ZURICH II. Cela suppose que les Etats signataires de la Convention de ZURICH II signent la nouvelle Convention de ZURICH III. Tant que ce processus n’est pas achevé, la Convention de ZURICH II est toujours applicable.

Le FNG a signé une Convention de ZURICH III avec les fonds de garantie des Etats ne faisant pas partie de l'EEE figurant sur la liste qui suit ci-dessous.

  • L'Ukraine (le 09.05.2014)
  • La Turquie (le 01.11.2014)