Liechtenstein

The Swiss National Guarantee Fund fulfils the tasks of the National Guarantee Fund of the Principality of Liechtenstein (art. 1 of the exchange of notes dated 3 November 2003). The National Guarantee Fund of Liechtenstein is subject to supervision by the Financial Market Authority of the government of Liechtenstein (FMA), who also approves the amount of each Liechtenstein car holder’s annual contribution.

The member states of the EU/EEA are obliged to establish compensation bodies (Directive 2009/103/EC). They grant cover for losses to victims in the event that regular claims settlement processes after an accident abroad fail. After set time limits, the compensation bodies settle claims if claims representatives are missing or in default or if persons responsible for accidents or insurers cannot be identified.

Liechtenstein implements this requirement in art. 75c-d of the Liechtenstein Road Traffic Act SVG-FL.

Compensation Body...

Material damage deductible of EUR 500 or the Swiss franc equivalent applies in cases of liability for damages caused by unidentified motor vehicles, trailers, unknown cyclists or users of equipment similar to a vehicle (art. 53 par. 3 VVV-FL). In Switzerland, the deductible amounts to CHF 1000.

Liechtenstein

Les tâches du Fonds national de garantie du Liechtenstein sont assurées par le Fonds national de garantie suisse (art. 1 de l’Echange de notes du 3 novembre 2003). La surveillance du Fonds de garantie du Liechtenstein est assurée par le Gouvernement du Liechtenstein par le biais de l’Autorité de surveillance des marchés financiers du Liechtenstein (FMA). Les contributions des détenteurs de véhicules à moteur liechtensteinois doivent également être approuvées par le gouvernement.

Les Etats membre de l’UE/EEE sont tenus de mettre en place des Organismes d‘indemnisation (DIR 2009/103/EC). Ces organismes accordent une protection contre les défaillances du système pour le cas où le règlement des sinistres devait s’avérer défaillant en cas d’accident subi à l’étranger. Si les conditions sont réunies, l’Organisme d’indemnisation règle le sinistre à la place du représentant défaillant. Cela est également vrai lorsque l’assureur compétent ou le responsable de l’accident ne peuvent être identifiés.

Le Liechtenstein a transposé cette obligation dans sa législation aux art. 75 c-d LCR-FL.

Organisme d'indemnisation...

Pour les sinistres matériels causés par des véhicules automobiles, des remorques, des cycles ou des engins assimilés à des véhicules inconnus, il s’applique une franchise de l’ordre de EUR 500 respectivement l’équivalent de ce montant en francs suisses dans le cadre de la couverture (art. 53 al. 3 de l’OAV-FL). En Suisse, cette franchise s’élève à CHF 1000.