Organisation

Legal form

The insurance undertakings active in the motor third party liability insurance branch constitute and administrate together the Swiss National Guarantee Fund, which has its own legal personality (art. 76 par. 1 of the Road Traffic Act SVG).

The NGF is established as an association according to art. 60 ff of the Swiss Civil Code (ZGB).

Bodies

The composition, the tasks and the attributions of the bodies composing the Swiss National Guarantee Fund are ruled by the NGF constitution (Art. 8 ss). The Bodies composing the NGF are the General Meeting of Members, the Executive Committee and the Statutory Auditor. The statutory auditor is elected by the general meeting of members for a duration of 1 year. Every auditing company subject to government supervision according to the Act on audit supervision (Revisionsaufsichtsgesetzes RAG) may be elected as statutory auditor (Art. 26 s of the constitution).

Managing insurer

According to the law, the NGF may entrust the execution of its tasks to its members or to third parties and appoint a managing insurer (Art. 76b par. 4 lit. a SVG). Ever since the formation of the NGF, the technical part of its association tasks has been executed by the Zurich Insurance Company Ltd.

Registered office

The registered office of the NGF is situated at the registered office of the managing insurer in Zurich. Furthermore, the NGF has two registered branch offices, one in Lausanne, and the other in Lugano.

Organisation

Forme juridique

Les institutions d'assurance autorisées à exercer leur activité en Suisse dans le secteur de l'assurance-responsabilité civile pour véhicules automobiles constituent et exploitent en commun le Fonds National Suisse de Garantie (FNG), qui est doté de la personnalité juridique (art. 76 al. 1 de la Loi sur la circulation routière, LCR).

Le FNG est organisé sous la forme d'une association au sens des art. 60 ss du Code civil suisse (CC).

Organes

La composition, les tâches et les attributions des organes du Fonds National Suisse de Garantie sont régies par les statuts du FNG (art. 8 ss). Les organes du FNG sont l'assemblée des membres, le comité de direction et l'organe de révision. L'organe de révision est élu pour une durée d'une année par l'Assemblée des membres. Sont éligibles en qualité d'organe de révision les entreprises de révision soumises à la surveillance de l'Etat conformément aux prescription de la Loi sur la surveillance de la révision (Art. 26 s des statuts).

Assureur apériteur

La loi permet au FNG de confier à ses membres ou à des tiers l'exécution des tâches qui lui incombent et de nommer un assureur apériteur (art. 76b al. 4 let. a LCR). Depuis la fondation du FNG, les tâches techniques de l'association sont exécutées par la Zurich Compagnie d'Assurances SA.

Siège social

Le siège du FNG est situé au siège de l'assureur apériteur à Zurich. Le FNG dispose en outre de deux succursales inscrites au registre du commerce à Lausanne et à Lugano.