Legislation NGF

The tasks and the financing of the Swiss National Guarantee Fund (NGF) are ruled by Articles 76, 76a and 76b of the Swiss Road Traffic Law (SVG).

Basic principles

The NGF is an association formed by the Swiss Motor Third Party Liability Insurers. Its expenses are covered by contributions paid by the vehicle holders. For the settlement of claims, the NGF is usually represented by its managing member company, i.e. Zurich Insurance Company Ltd. If there is a conflict of interests, the NGF will appoint another member for the settlement of the claim.

The NGF covers the third party liability for damages caused in Switzerland and in Liechtenstein by unidentified or uninsured motor vehicles and trailers (art. 76 par. 2 lit. a number 1 SVG). It also covers the third party liability for damages caused in Switzerland and in Liechtenstein by users of bicycles and devices which can be assimilated to a vehicle, as long as the offender cannot be identified or the damage is neither covered by the latter nor a third party liability insurance or a third liable party nor another insurance  (art. 76 par. 2 lit. a number 2 SVG).

Furthermore, the NGF covers the third party liability for damages caused by motor vehicles or trailers which are registered in Switzerland or Liechtenstein, provided that the liable MTPL insurer has been declared bankrupt (art. 76 par. 2 lit. b SVG).

Taking into consideration that many different representation relations may apply, it has to be pointed out that in case a claim for a road traffic accident was brought into court, the NGF would have to be the defendant (art. 76b par. 1 SVG). In other words, legal action has to be taken against the NGF, and not its representative (that means neither Zurich nor another representative such as a member company).

According to Art. 38 of the Civil Procedure Code (ZPO), the court at the place where the accident occurred and the court at the defendant's domicile (the NGF's head office is situated in Zurich, at the siege of the managing company Zurich Insurance Company Ltd) as well as the courts at the place of an NGF branch office (Lugano and Lausanne) have jurisdiction.

Pursuant the Treaty concluded between Switzerland and the Principality of Liechtenstein on 3 November 2003, not only the court at the place where the accident occurred but also the courts at the plaintiff's domicile in Liechtenstein and the courts at the NGF's domicile or at the place of an NGF branch office (Zurich, Lugano, Lausanne) have jurisdiction if the plaintiff is a resident of the Principality of Liechtenstein.

In case of damages caused by unidentified or uninsured motor vehicles, trailers and bicycles, the liability of the NGF is merely of subsidiary nature. In the second degree, the liability of the NGF is reduced in a proportion corresponding to the indemnities which can be claimed from damage insurances and social insurers (art. 76 par. 4 SVG). In other words, the claimant has to address his claim primarily to these undertakings. These undertakings do not have any right of recourse against the NGF.

Material damage deductible of CHF 1000 per victim, which normally applies in cases of liability for damages caused by unidentified motor vehicles, trailers and bicycles (see Art. 76 Swiss Road Traffic Act), is not applicable if the injuring party is liable for considerable personal injuries due to the same accident (Art. 52 par. 3 of the Swiss Motor Insurance Ordinance VVV). This means that the deductible continues to apply in cases where there is only material damage, while in cases of considerable personal injuries, there will be no deductible for either the personal injuries or the material damage caused. Personal injury is deemed to be serious when a medical consultation is objectively required (consultation of a physician or in a hospital).

A different regulation applies when the accident occurs in Liechtenstein. According to Art. 53 par. 3 of the Ordinance on vehicle insurance (VVV), the excess amounts to EUR 500 or the equivalent in Swiss Francs.

Claims are handled by member companies in the name of the NGF. Handlers are entitled to be compensated with a handling fee. At the same time, handling fees do not have any effect on payments to victims. A regulation for the handling of claims in the name of the NGF was introduced in 2009 and has been amended in 2012. It applies to all pending cases as per 1 May 2012.

Handling fees NGF...

The Compensation Body

The NGF has set up a Compensation Body (Art. 79d SVG). Injured parties can file their claims to this Body if the insurer liable for the settlement of their claims has failed to act within the agreed time period (3 months), either by settling the claims or by giving a reasoned reply explaining why a claim cannot or not yet be settled.

Législation FNG

Les articles 76, 76a et 76b de la Loi sur la circulation routière (LCR) règlent les tâches et le financement du Fonds National Suisse de Garantie (FNG).

Fondements

Le FNG est une association formée par les assureurs responsabilité civile pour véhicules automobiles suisses et liechtensteinois. Les contributions versées par les détenteurs de véhicule permettent de financer les charges administratives et l'indemnisation des sinistres. En cas de sinistre, la gestion est en général assurée par la Zurich Compagnie d'Assurances SA, l'assureur apériteur du FNG. En cas de collision d'intérêts, le FNG désigne une autre compagnie membre pour assurer la gestion du sinistre.

Le FNG couvre la responsabilité civile pour les accidents causés en Suisse ou dans la Principauté de Liechtenstein par des véhicules automobiles ou des remorques non identifiés ou non assurés, dans la mesure où la LCR prévoit une obligation d'assurance (art. 76 al. 2 let. a chiffre 1 LCR). En outre, il couvre la responsabilité civile pour les accidents causés par des cycles ou des engins assimilés à des véhicules, lorsque l'auteur du dommage ne peut être identifié ou que le dommage n'est couvert ni par lui-même, ni par une assurance responsabilité civile, ni par un tiers responsable du dommage à la place de l'auteur, ni par une autre assurance (art. 76 al. 2 let. a chiffre 2 LCR).

Le FNG couvre également la responsabilité civile pour les dommages causés par des véhicules automobiles ou des remorques immatriculés en Suisse et au Liechtenstein, lorsque l'assureur en responsabilité civile tenu à des prestations est déclaré en faillite (art. 76 al. 2 let. b LCR).

Compte tenu des différents rapports possibles de représentation, il y a lieu de porter une attention particulière sur le fait qu'en cas de procès pour des prétentions découlant d'un accident de la circulation selon l'art. 76 LCR, la légitimation passive revient au FNG (art. 76b al. 1 LCR). En d'autres termes, une éventuelle action doit être dirigée contre le FNG, et non pas contre son représentant (càd ni la Zurich, ni un autre représentant tel qu'une société membre).

En vertu de l'art. 38 du Code de procédure civile (CPC), est également compétent, en plus du tribunal du lieu de l'accident ou du domicile ou du siège social du défendeur (le FNG a son siège social à Zurich, auprès de l'assureur apériteur Zurich Compagnie d'Assurances SA), le tribunal du lieu où le FNG dispose d'une succursale (Lugano et Lausanne).

En vertu des dispositions du traité conclu entre la Suisse et la Principauté de Liechtenstein le 3 novembre 2003, les tribunaux compétents pour les personnes ayant leur domicile dans la Principauté de Liechtenstein sont, en plus de ceux du lieu de l'accident, ceux du lieu du domicile de la demanderesse au Liechtenstein, de même que ceux du siège social ou d'une succursale du FNG (Zurich, Lugano, Lausanne).

En cas de sinistre causé par un véhicule automobile, une remorque ou un cycle non identifié ou non assuré, l'obligation du FNG est uniquement de nature subsidiaire. Elle se réduit dans une proportion correspondant aux prétentions que le lésé peut faire valoir auprès d'une assurance-dommages ou d'une assurance sociale (art. 76 al. 4 LCR). En d'autres termes, le lésé doit se tenir en premier à ces assurances pour la couverture de son dommage. Ces dernières ne disposent d'aucun droit de recours contre le FNG. Le FNG intervient uniquement pour le dommage direct dû en vertu de la LCR et non couvert par les assurances-dommages et les assurances sociales.

La franchise sur les dommages matériels de CHF 1000 par personne lésée qui s'applique aux dommages causés par des véhicules, remorques ou cycles non identifiés (voir art. 76 LCR) tombe lorsque la responsabilité de l'auteur du sinistre est engagée dans le même sinistre pour un dommage corporel important (art. 52 al. 3 OAV). La franchise demeure donc applicable aux dommages purement matériels: en cas de sinistre impliquant un dommage corporel important, la franchise ne s'applique ni au dommage corporel ni au dommage matériel. On parle d'un cas de dommage corporel important lorsque, d'un point de vue objectif, une consultation médicale est nécessaire (examen par un médecin / dans un hôpital).

Une réglementation divergente s'applique si l'accident est survenu au Liechtenstein. En effet, en vertu de l'art. 53 al. 3 de l'Ordonnance sur l'assurance des véhicules du Liechtenstein, la franchise s'élève à EUR 500 ou la contre-valeur en Francs Suisses.

Le FNG cède la gestion de sinistres à une société membre. Les régleurs ont droit à un honoraire. Ces honoraires de gestion n'ont aucun impact sur le total des indemnités payées. La réglementation concernant les honoraires dus pour le règlement des sinistres gérés au nom du FNG a été introduite en 2009 et révisée en 2012. Elle s'applique à tous les cas en suspens à partir du 1.5.2012.

Honoraires de gestion FNG...

Organisme d'indemnisation

Le FNG exploite un organisme d'indemnisation (l'art. 79d LCR). Les personnes lésées peuvent adresser leurs demandes de réparation à cet organisme lorsque l'assureur responsabilité civile n'entre pas en matière dans les délais (3 mois) sur les prétentions de la personne lésée, c'est-à-dire qu'il ne procède ni à l'indemnisation, ni n'indique les raisons pour lesquelles la prétention ne peut pas ou n'a pas encore être satisfaite.