Internal Regulations

The Internal Regulations (IR) constitute a system of rules which are regulating the details of the cover and the settlement of claims between 47 national bureaux of insurance of the so called "Green Card System". This agreement has been adopted by the 2002 General Assembly of the Council of Bureaux (CoB). It replaced the agreements which where in force until then, namely the London Agreement and the Multilateral Guarantee Agreement, and combined their provisions into a new unique document. The Internal Regulations came in force 1st July 2003.

The Internal Regulations regulates both the relations between bureaux whose relations are based on the "Green Card" (section II IR) as well as the relations between bureaux whose relations depend on the existence of valid vehicle registration (section III IR). As a matter of fact, within the Green Card System, the system of sufficient insurance cover in the framework of international road traffic is ruled in two different manners.

When a vehicule originates from a country whose national insurance bureau is a signatory of the Multilateral Agreement (which replaced the above mentioned Multilateral Guarantee Agreement), it is presumed - provided that the registration is valid and that the insurance bureau of the visited country is also a signatory of the Multilateral Agreement - that this vehicle disposes of sufficient insurance cover for accidents caused on the territory of the visited country (cf. map above, lime green countries).

In the situation where the international road traffic takes place between two countries whose national insurance bureaux are not signatories of the Multilateral Agreement, sufficient cover for accidents caused on the territory of the visited country presupposes the presentation of a valid green card emitted by the insurance bureau of the country of origin of the vehicle (cf. map above, dark green countries). This is also valid when one of the two above mentioned countries respectively its insurance bureau is not a signatory of the Multilateral Agreement.

Green Card...

In the course of time, the Internal Regulations have been complemented with the Explanatory Memorandum. This document contains compulsory provisions that specify and/or complement the Internal Regulations.

Règlement Général

Le Règlement Général (RG) constitue l'ensemble contractuel qui règle les détails de la couverture et du règlement des sinistres entre 47 bureaux nationaux d'assurance du système appelé "système Carte verte". Cette convention a été adoptée par l'Assemblée générale 2002 du Conseil des Bureaux (CoB). Elle a remplacé les textes en vigueur jusqu'alors, notamment la Convention de Londres et l'Accord Multilatéral de garantie, et compilé leurs dispositions au sein d'un document unique. Le Règlement Général est entré en vigueur le 1er juillet 2003.

Le Règlement Général régit à la fois les relations entre les bureaux dont les relations reposent sur la "Carte verte" (section II du RG), et les relations entre les bureaux dont les relations dépendent de l'existence d'immatriculations de véhicules valides (section III du RG). En effet, au sein du système "Carte verte", la question de la couverture suffisante dans le cadre du trafic routier transfrontalier est réglée de deux manières différentes.

Un véhicule provenant d'un Etat dont le bureau national d'assurance a signé l'Accord Multilatéral dispose d'une couverture d'assurance suffisante pour couvrir les sinistres causés sur le territoire du pays visité. Il faut cependant que son immatriculation soit valable et que le bureau d'assurance de l'Etat visité a également signé l'Accord multilatéral (cf. carte ci-dessus, Etats en vert).

Lorsque le trafic routier transfrontalier a lieu entre des Etats dont les bureaux nationaux d'assurance n'ont pas signé l'Accord Multilatéral, une carte verte valide doit être emportée. Ceci est également déjà valable lorsque l'un des deux Etats précités n'a pas signé l'Accord Multilatéral. La carte verte est preuve de la couverture d'assurance suffisante pour les sinistres éventuels. Elle est émise sous l'autorité du bureau national d'assurance du pays d'origine du véhicule et s'appelle aussi carte internationale d'assurance automobile (cf. carte ci-dessus, Etats en vert foncé).

Carte verte...

Au fil du temps, le Règlement Général a été complété par le Commentaire du Règlement Général. Ce document contient des décisions obligatoires qui précisent et/ou complètent le Règlement Général.