CoB

European umbrella organisation

The Council of Bureaux (CoB) is the European umbrella organisation to which all national bureaux of insurance are affiliated. The CoB adopts binding provisions such as the Internal Regulations. The CoB's secretariat is located in Brussels.

History

The CoB was established in London in 1949. One year later, the CoB held its first official assembly in the course of which the format of the Green Card was defined. The Green Card System was introduced on 1 January 1953. In the following years, the organisation focused its attention on internationally harmonising the insurance cover and on optimising the protection of victims of road accidents by means of various agreements. Examples include the London Agreement, the Multilateral Guarantee Agreement and the Protection of Visitors Agreement.

In 1991, the CoB adopted its statute, and in 1999, the organisation celebrated its 50th anniversary in Oxford. In 2003, the CoB adopted the Internal Regulations which replaced the London Agreement and the Multilateral Guarantee Agreement and which provided a single document governing the reciprocal relations between the National Bureaux of Insurance.

Organisation

The CoB is an international non-profit organisation to which all National Bureaux of Insurance are affiliated. The General Assembly is the CoB's supreme body. In addition to the President and the Secretary-General, there are various standing committees with various functions.

Bodies

The General Assembly is composed of all the National Bureaux of Insurance that are members of the CoB.

The Management Committee is the CoB's executive. The Management Committee is composed of the President and 10 additional members elected by the General Assembly.

The President chairs the General Assembly and represents the CoB externally.

The Secretary-General is responsible for the organisation's operational business.

General Rules Committee
General questions, in particular questions relating to the Green Card.

Specific Rules Committee
In particular responsible for questions relating to the Plates Agreement.

External and internal auditors

CdB

Organisation faîtière européenne

Le Conseil des Bureaux (CdB) est l'organisation faîtière européenne qui regroupe tous les Bureaux Nationaux d'Assurance. Il arrête des dispositions contraignantes, par exemple le Règlement Général. Son secrétariat se trouve à Bruxelles.

Histoire

Le CdB a été fondé en 1949 à Londres et c'est un an plus tard que s'est tenue la première assemblée officielle, au cours de laquelle a été arrêté le format de la carte verte. Le système de la carte verte a été introduit le 1er janvier 1953. Au cours des années suivantes, par l'adoption de différentes conventions, les efforts se sont concentrés sur l'harmonisation internationale de la couverture d'assurance et l'amélioration de la protection des victimes des accidents de la circulation routière. Mentionnons à titre d'exemples la Convention de Londres, la Convention multilatérale de garantie et la Convention sur la protection des visiteurs.

Les statuts du CdB ont été adoptés en 1991; il a fêté en 1999 son cinquantième anniversaire à Oxford. Le CdB a adopté en 2003 le Règlement Général, qui s’est substitué à la Convention de Londres et à la Convention multilatérale de garantie, et règle de façon uniforme la coopération entre les bureaux nationaux.

Organisation

Le CdB est une organisation internationale à but non lucratif, dont font partie tous les bureaux nationaux d'assurance. L'Assemblée générale est l'organe suprême du CdB. Aux côtés du Président et du Secrétaire général, il existe plusieurs comités permanents chargés de différentes tâches.

Organes

Elle se compose de tous les bureaux nationaux membres du CdB.

C'est l'organe exécutif du CdB. Le Comité de gestion se compose du Président élu par l'Assemblée générale et de 10 autres membres.

Il dirige les travaux de l'Assemblée générale et représente le CdB vis-à-vis de l'extérieur.

Il est responsable des affaires courantes.

Comité des règles générales
Compétent pour tout questions générales, en particulier celles concernant la carte verte.

Comité des règles particulières
Compétent en particulier pour les questions concernant la Convention des plaques.

Vérificateurs aux comptes externes et internes