Legislation NGF

The tasks and the financing of the Swiss National Guarantee Fund (NGF) are ruled by Articles 76, 76a and 76b of the Swiss Road Traffic Law (SVG).

Basic principles

The NGF is an association formed by the Swiss Motor Third Party Liability Insurers. Its expenses are covered by contributions paid by the vehicle holders. For the settlement of claims, the NGF is usually represented by its managing member company, i.e. Zurich Insurance Company Ltd. If there is a conflict of interests, the NGF will appoint another member for the settlement of the claim.

The NGF covers the third party liability for damages caused in Switzerland and in Liechtenstein by unidentified or uninsured motor vehicles and trailers (art. 76 par. 2 lit. a number 1 SVG). It also covers the third party liability for damages caused in Switzerland and in Liechtenstein by users of bicycles and devices which can be assimilated to a vehicle, as long as the offender cannot be identified or the damage is neither covered by the latter nor a third party liability insurance or a third liable party nor another insurance  (art. 76 par. 2 lit. a number 2 SVG).

Furthermore, the NGF covers the third party liability for damages caused by motor vehicles or trailers which are registered in Switzerland or Liechtenstein, provided that the liable MTPL insurer has been declared bankrupt (art. 76 par. 2 lit. b SVG).

Taking into consideration that many different representation relations may apply, it has to be pointed out that in case a claim for a road traffic accident was brought into court, the NGF would have to be the defendant (art. 76b par. 1 SVG). In other words, legal action has to be taken against the NGF, and not its representative (that means neither Zurich nor another representative such as a member company).

According to Art. 38 of the Civil Procedure Code (ZPO), the court at the place where the accident occurred and the court at the defendant's domicile (the NGF's head office is situated in Zurich, at the siege of the managing company Zurich Insurance Company Ltd) as well as the courts at the place of an NGF branch office (Lugano and Lausanne) have jurisdiction.

Pursuant the Treaty concluded between Switzerland and the Principality of Liechtenstein on 3 November 2003, not only the court at the place where the accident occurred but also the courts at the plaintiff's domicile in Liechtenstein and the courts at the NGF's domicile or at the place of an NGF branch office (Zurich, Lugano, Lausanne) have jurisdiction if the plaintiff is a resident of the Principality of Liechtenstein.

In case of damages caused by unidentified or uninsured motor vehicles, trailers and bicycles, the liability of the NGF is merely of subsidiary nature. In the second degree, the liability of the NGF is reduced in a proportion corresponding to the indemnities which can be claimed from damage insurances and social insurers (art. 76 par. 4 SVG). In other words, the claimant has to address his claim primarily to these undertakings. These undertakings do not have any right of recourse against the NGF.

Material damage deductible of CHF 1000 per victim, which normally applies in cases of liability for damages caused by unidentified motor vehicles, trailers and bicycles (see Art. 76 Swiss Road Traffic Act), is not applicable if the injuring party is liable for considerable personal injuries due to the same accident (Art. 52 par. 3 of the Swiss Motor Insurance Ordinance VVV). This means that the deductible continues to apply in cases where there is only material damage, while in cases of considerable personal injuries, there will be no deductible for either the personal injuries or the material damage caused. Personal injury is deemed to be serious when a medical consultation is objectively required (consultation of a physician or in a hospital).

A different regulation applies when the accident occurs in Liechtenstein. According to Art. 53 par. 3 of the Ordinance on vehicle insurance (VVV), the excess amounts to EUR 500 or the equivalent in Swiss Francs.

Claims are handled by member companies in the name of the NGF. Handlers are entitled to be compensated with a handling fee. At the same time, handling fees do not have any effect on payments to victims. A regulation for the handling of claims in the name of the NGF was introduced in 2009 and has been amended in 2012. It applies to all pending cases as per 1 May 2012.

Handling fees NGF...

The Compensation Body

The NGF has set up a Compensation Body (Art. 79d SVG). Injured parties can file their claims to this Body if the insurer liable for the settlement of their claims has failed to act within the agreed time period (3 months), either by settling the claims or by giving a reasoned reply explaining why a claim cannot or not yet be settled.

Gesetze NGF

Artikel 76, 76a und 76b des Strassenverkehrsgesetzes (SVG) regeln die Aufgaben und die Finanzierung des Nationalen Garantiefonds Schweiz (NGF).

Grundsätze

Der NGF ist ein Verein, dem sämtliche Schweizer und Liechtensteiner Motorfahrzeughaftpflicht-Versicherer angehören. Aufwand- und Schadenkosten werden durch Beiträge der Motorfahrzeughalter gedeckt. Die Abwicklung der Schadenfälle erfolgt in der Regel durch den geschäftsführenden Versicherer, die Zürich Versicherungs-Gesellschaft AG. Im Falle einer Interessenkollision bestimmt der NGF ein anderes Mitglied für die Abwicklung des Schadenfalles.

Der NGF deckt die Haftung für Schäden, die in der Schweiz und in Liechtenstein durch nicht ermittelte oder nicht versicherte Motorfahrzeuge und Anhänger verursacht werden, soweit nach dem SVG eine Versicherungspflicht besteht (Art. 76 Abs. 2 lit. a Ziffer 1 SVG). Ebenfalls gedeckt wird die Haftung für Schäden, die durch Radfahrer oder Benützer fahrzeugähnlicher Geräte verursacht werden, sofern der Schädiger nicht ermittelt werden kann oder der Schaden weder vom Schädiger noch von einer Haftpflichtversicherung noch von einer für ihn verantwortlichen Person oder einer anderen Versicherung gedeckt wird (Art. 76 Abs. 2 lit. a Ziffer 2 SVG).

Zudem deckt der NGF die Haftung für Schäden, die durch in der Schweiz und in Liechtenstein zugelassene Motorfahrzeuge und Anhänger verursacht werden, wenn über den leistungspflichtigen Haftpflichtversicherer der Konkurs eröffnet worden ist (Art. 76 Abs. 2 lit. b SVG).

Die Passivlegitimation kommt im Falle eines Prozesses zur Geltendmachung eines Anspruchs aus einem Verkehrsunfall dem NGF zu (Art. 76b Abs. 1 SVG). Eine allfällige Klage muss gegen den NGF und nicht gegen dessen Vertreter (z.B. Zürich Versicherungs-Gesellschaft AG oder eine andere Mitgliedsgesellschaft) gerichtet werden. 

Gemäss Art. 38 der Zivilprozessordnung (ZPO) ist neben dem Gericht am Unfallort oder am Wohnsitz oder Sitz der beklagten Partei (der NGF hat seinen Hauptsitz beim geschäftsführenden Versicherer Zürich Versicherungs-Gesellschaft AG in Zürich) zusätzlich das Gericht am Ort einer Zweigniederlassung des NGF zuständig (Lugano und Lausanne). 

Aufgrund einer staatsvertraglichen Regelung zwischen der Schweiz und Liechtenstein vom 3. November 2003 sind für Personen mit Wohnsitz in Liechtenstein neben dem Gericht am Unfallort auch die Gerichte am liechtensteinischen Wohnsitz der klagenden Partei sowie am Sitz oder Ort einer Zweigniederlassung des NGF (Zürich, Lugano, Lausanne) zuständig.

Bei Schäden, die durch nicht ermittelte oder nicht versicherte Motorfahrzeuge, Anhänger und Fahrräder verursacht werden, ist die Leistungspflicht des NGF lediglich subsidiärer Natur. Sie entfällt in dem Umfang, in dem der Geschädigte Leistungen aus einer Schadens- oder einer Sozialversicherung beanspruchen kann (Art. 76 Abs. 4 SVG). Der Geschädigte muss sich zur Deckung seines Schadens in erster Linie an diese Versicherungen halten. Letzteren steht kein Regressrecht gegen den NGF zu. Der NGF kommt lediglich für den durch Schadens- und Sozialversicherungen nicht gedeckten, gemäss Strassenverkehrsgesetz geschuldeten Direktschaden auf.

Der bei der Haftung für Schäden durch nicht ermittelte Motorfahrzeuge, Anhänger und Fahrräder (vgl. Art. 76 SVG) für Sachschäden geltende Selbstbehalt von CHF 1000 pro Geschädigten entfällt, wenn der Schädiger aus demselben Ereignis für einen erheblichen Personenschaden haftet (Art. 52 Abs. 3 VVV). Bei einem reinen Sachschaden gilt der Selbstbehalt somit nach wie vor, bei einem Schaden mit erheblichem Personenschaden besteht weder für den Personen- noch für den Sachschaden ein Selbstbehalt. Ein erheblicher Personenschaden liegt vor, wenn er nach objektiven Massstäben eine ärztliche Konsultation (Arzt- oder Spitalbesuch) notwendig macht.

Hat sich der Unfall in Liechtenstein ereignet, ist eine abweichende Regelung anwendbar. Gemäss  der liechtensteinischen Verkehrsversicherungsverordnung VVV beträgt der Selbstbehalt EUR 500 oder der Gegenwert in Schweizer Franken (Art. 53 Abs. 3).

Der NGF behandelt Schadenfälle nicht selber. Er wird in dieser Aufgabe durch seine Mitgliedsgesellschaften vertreten, die im Einzelfall entschädigt werden. Die Entschädigung der Gesellschaften tangiert die an die Geschädigten gerichteten Schadenzahlungen nicht. Eine Gebührenordnung wurde 2009 beschlossen und 2012 revidiert. Sie ist anwendbar auf alle am 1.5.2012 bei den beauftragten Regulierungsstellen pendenten und künftigen Schadenfälle.

Behandlungsgebühren NGF...

Die Entschädigungsstelle

Der NGF betreibt eine Entschädigungsstelle (Art. 79d SVG). Bei dieser Einrichtung können Geschädigte ihre Ansprüche geltend machen, wenn die zur Schadenabwicklung verpflichteten Stellen nicht fristgerecht auf deren Forderungen eintreten (innert 3 Monaten), d.h. ein Schadenersatzangebot vorlegen oder konkret begründen, weshalb die Forderung nicht oder noch nicht erfüllt werden kann.