Internal Regulations

The Internal Regulations (IR) constitute a system of rules which are regulating the details of the cover and the settlement of claims between 47 national bureaux of insurance of the so called "Green Card System". This agreement has been adopted by the 2002 General Assembly of the Council of Bureaux (CoB). It replaced the agreements which where in force until then, namely the London Agreement and the Multilateral Guarantee Agreement, and combined their provisions into a new unique document. The Internal Regulations came in force 1st July 2003.

The Internal Regulations regulates both the relations between bureaux whose relations are based on the "Green Card" (section II IR) as well as the relations between bureaux whose relations depend on the existence of valid vehicle registration (section III IR). As a matter of fact, within the Green Card System, the system of sufficient insurance cover in the framework of international road traffic is ruled in two different manners.

A vehicule from a country, whose national insurance bureau is a signatory of the Multilateral Agreement, disposes of sufficient insurance cover for accidents caused on the territory of the visited country. However, the following requirements must be met. The vehicule must have a valid registration plate and the insurance bureau of the visited country must be a signatory of the Multilateral Agreement (see map above: countries in lime green).

On international road journeys between two countries whose national insurance bureaux are not signatories of the Multilateral Agreement, a valid Green Card must be carried along. This also applies when only one country is not a signatory of the before mentioned agreement. The Green Card proves sufficient cover for accidents caused on the territory of the visited country. It is emitted by the insurance bureau of the country of origin of the vehicle (cf. map above, dark green countries). 

Green Card...

In the course of time, the Internal Regulations have been complemented with the Explanatory Memorandum. This document contains compulsory provisions that specify and/or complement the Internal Regulations.

Internal Regulations

Unter dem Namen "Internal Regulations (IR)" wird das Vertragswerk bezeichnet, das die Einzelheiten der Deckung und Abwicklung von Schadenfällen regelt, die in die Kompetenz der 47 nationalen Versicherungsbüros des sog. "Systems der Grünen Karte" fallen. Dieses Abkommen wurde an der Generalversammlung 2002 des Council of Bureaux (CoB) verabschiedet. Es hat die bisherigen Vertragstexte, namentlich das Londoner Abkommen und das Multilaterale Garantieabkommen, ersetzt, und deren Bestimmungen in einem einheitlichen Dokument zusammengefasst. Die Internal Regulations sind am 1. Juli 2003 in Kraft getreten.

Die Internal Regulations regeln sowohl das Verhältnis zwischen Büros, deren Beziehungen auf der sog. "Grünen Karte" beruhen (Abschnitt II der Internal Regulations), als auch zwischen Büros, deren Beziehungen gestützt auf das Vorliegen von gültigen Fahrzeugimmatrikulationen geregelt sind (Abschnitt III der Internal Regulations). Tatsächlich wird die Deckung im Grüne Karte-System im Rahmen des grenzüberschreitenden Strassenverkehrs auf zwei unterschiedliche Arten gewährleistet.

Fahrzeuge aus Staaten, deren Versicherungsbüros das Multilaterale Abkommen unterzeichnet haben, verfügen über eine ausreichende Versicherungsdeckung für Fahrten in andere Staaten, die ebenfalls das oben erwähnte Agreement unterzeichnet haben. Voraussetzung ist ein gültiges Kennzeichen (vgl. Karte oben: hellgrün gefärbte Staaten).

Bei grenzüberschreitenden Fahrten zwischen Staaten, deren Versicherungsbüros das Multilaterale Abkommen nicht unterzeichnet haben, muss eine Grüne Karte mitgeführt werden. Dies gilt auch, wenn nur ein Staat das Abkommen nicht unterzeichnet hat. Die Grüne Karte bestätigt im besuchten Land eine ausreichende Versicherungsdeckung für allfällige Schäden. Sie wird unter der Autorität des nationalen Versicherungsbüros des Herkunftsstaates herausgegeben und wird auch Internationale Versicherungskarte genannt (vgl. Karte oben, dunkelgrün gefärbte Staaten). 

Grüne Karte...

Die Internal Regulation wurden im Laufe der Zeit durch das Explanatory Memorandum ergänzt. Dieses Dokument enthält verbindliche Beschlüsse, welche die Internal Regulations präzisieren und/oder ergänzen.