Liechtenstein

The Swiss National Guarantee Fund fulfils the tasks of the National Guarantee Fund of the Principality of Liechtenstein (art. 1 of the exchange of notes dated 3 November 2003). The National Guarantee Fund of Liechtenstein is subject to supervision by the Financial Market Authority of the government of Liechtenstein (FMA), who also approves the amount of each Liechtenstein car holder’s annual contribution.

The member states of the EU/EEA are obliged to establish compensation bodies (Directive 2009/103/EC). They grant cover for losses to victims in the event that regular claims settlement processes after an accident abroad fail. After set time limits, the compensation bodies settle claims if claims representatives are missing or in default or if persons responsible for accidents or insurers cannot be identified.

Liechtenstein implements this requirement in art. 75c-d of the Liechtenstein Road Traffic Act SVG-FL.

Compensation Body...

Material damage deductible of EUR 500 or the Swiss franc equivalent applies in cases of liability for damages caused by unidentified motor vehicles, trailers, unknown cyclists or users of equipment similar to a vehicle (art. 53 par. 3 VVV-FL). In Switzerland, the deductible amounts to CHF 1000.

Liechtenstein

Die Aufgaben des liechtensteinischen Nationalen Garantiefonds werden durch den schweizerischen Nationalen Garantiefonds wahrgenommen (Art. 1 des Notenaustausches vom 3. November 2003). Die Aufsicht über den liechtensteinischen Garantiefonds obliegt der Finanzmarktaufsicht der liechtensteinischen Regierung (FMA), die auch die Beiträge liechtensteinischer Motorfahrzeughalter bewilligt.

EU/EWR-Mitgliedsstaaten sind verpflichtet, Entschädigungsstellen einzurichten (RL 2009/103/EG). Diese gewähren den Geschädigten einen Ausfallschutz, wenn die Schadenregulierung nach einem Unfall im Ausland nicht erfolgt. Nach festgelegten Fristen reguliert die Entschädigungsstelle Schadenfälle von fehlenden oder säumigen Schadenregulierungsbeauftragten oder wenn Unfallverursacher und/oder Versicherer nicht ermittelt werden können.

Liechtenstein setzt diese Vorgaben in Art. 75c-d SVG-FL um.

Entschädigungsstelle...

Bei der Haftung für Sachschäden durch unbekannte Motorfahrzeuge, Anhänger, unbekannte Radfahrer oder Benützer von fahrzeugähnlichen Geräten gilt ein Selbstbehalt von EUR 500 oder der Gegenwert in Schweizer Franken (Art. 53 Abs. 3 der VVV-FL). In der Schweiz beträgt dieser Selbstbehalt CHF 1000.