Organisation

Legal form

The insurance undertakings active in the motor third party liability insurance branch constitute and administrate together the Swiss National Guarantee Fund, which has its own legal personality (art. 76 par. 1 of the Road Traffic Act SVG).

The NGF is established as an association according to art. 60 ff of the Swiss Civil Code (ZGB).

Bodies

The composition, the tasks and the attributions of the bodies composing the Swiss National Guarantee Fund are ruled by the NGF constitution (Art. 8 ss). The Bodies composing the NGF are the General Meeting of Members, the Executive Committee and the Statutory Auditor. The statutory auditor is elected by the general meeting of members for a duration of 1 year. Every auditing company subject to government supervision according to the Act on audit supervision (Revisionsaufsichtsgesetzes RAG) may be elected as statutory auditor (Art. 26 s of the constitution).

Managing insurer

According to the law, the NGF may entrust the execution of its tasks to its members or to third parties and appoint a managing insurer (Art. 76b par. 4 lit. a SVG). Ever since the formation of the NGF, the technical part of its association tasks has been executed by the Zurich Insurance Company Ltd.

Registered office

The registered office of the NGF is situated at the registered office of the managing insurer in Zurich. Furthermore, the NGF has two registered branch offices, one in Lausanne, and the other in Lugano.

Organisation

Rechtsform

Die in der Schweiz zum Betrieb der Motorfahrzeug-Haftpflichtversicherung zugelassenen Versicherungseinrichtungen bilden und betreiben gemeinsam den Nationalen Garantiefonds Schweiz (NGF), der eigene Rechtspersönlichkeit hat (Art. 76 Abs. 1 des Strassenverkehrsgesetzes SVG).

Der NGF nimmt die Rechtsform eines Vereins gemäss Art. 60 ff. des Schweizerischen Zivilgesetzbuches (ZGB) ein.

Organe

Die Zusammensetzung, die Aufgaben und die Befugnisse der Organe des Nationalen Garantiefonds Schweiz sind in den Statuten geregelt (Art. 8 ff). Die Organe des NGF sind die Mitgliederversammlung, der Vorstand und die Revisionsstelle. Die Revisionsstelle wird von der Mitgliederversammlung für jeweils ein Jahr gewählt. Als Revisionsstelle wählbar sind nach den Vorschriften des Revisionsaufsichtsgesetzes beaufsichtigte Revisionsunternehmen (Art. 26 f. der Statuten).

Geschäftsführender Versicherer

Der NGF kann seine Mitglieder oder Dritte mit der Erfüllung der ihm obliegenden Aufgaben betrauen und einen geschäftsführenden Versicherer bezeichnen (Art. 76b Abs. 4 lit. a SVG). Seit der Gründung des NGF werden die operativen Vereinsaufgaben durch die Zürich Versicherungs-Gesellschaft AG wahrgenommen.

Geschäftssitz

Der Sitz des NGF befindet sich am Sitz des geschäftsführenden Versicherers in Zürich. Zusätzlich verfügt der NGF über im Handelsregister eingetragene Zweigniederlassungen in Lausanne und Lugano.