International Agreements

ZURICH I and II Agreements

The NGF concluded the bilateral ZURICH I Guarantee Funds Agreement with a number of EU partner bureaux in the 1990s. This agreement was a predecessor of the ZURICH II Guarantee Funds Agreement, which has been signed later in collaboration with the Comité Européen des Assurances (CEA) and the Swiss Federal authorities between the NGF and the guarantee funds of the EEA member states.

The agreement ensures improved protection of injured parties within the EEA and Switzerland. If accidents involve unknown or uninsured motor vehicles, nationals of, as well as those with the right of residence in, Switzerland or the Principality of Liechtenstein will be treated in all EEA member states according to the same regulations as the ones that apply to the residents of those countries. Nationals of, and those with the right of residence in, an EEA member state can expect equal treatment by the NGF as received by Swiss residents.

ZURICH III Agreement

The aim is now to sign the Guarantee Funds Agreement with non-EEA countries as well (ZURICH III Guarantee Funds Agreement). In order to have a single name and to avoid misunderstandings, the ZURICH III Agreement will supersede the ZURICH II Agreement in the medium term. This will require the countries that have signed the ZURICH II Agreement to sign the new ZURICH III Agreement. As long as this process is not completed, the ZURICH II Agreement will continue to apply.

The NGF has signed the so called ZURICH III Agreements with the Guarantee Funds of the non-EEA countries listed below.

  • Ukraine (on 09.05.2014)
  • Turkey (on 01.11.2014)

Internationale Abkommen

ZÜRCHER I und II Abkommen

Der NGF hat in den 90er Jahren mit einigen EU-Partnerbüros das bilaterale ZÜRCHER I Garantiefonds-Abkommen abgeschlossen. Dieses galt als Vorläufer für das ZÜRCHER II Garantiefonds-Abkommen, das der NGF später in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Comité Européen des Assurances (CEA) und den Bundesbehörden mit den Garantiefonds der EWR-Mitgliedsstaaten unterzeichnete.

Das Abkommen gewährleistet einen besseren Schutz von Geschädigten innerhalb des Europäischen Wirtschaftsraums und der Schweiz. Staatsangehörige und Wohnsitzberechtigte der Schweiz und des Fürstentums Liechtenstein werden demnach bei Unfällen mit unbekannten oder nicht versicherten Motorfahrzeugen in allen Mitgliedsstaaten des EWR nach den gleichen Vorschriften behandelt, die auch für die Einwohner des jeweiligen Staates gelten. Staatsangehörige und Wohnsitzberechtigte der EWR-Staaten haben durch das Abkommen in der Schweiz den gleichen Anspruch gegenüber dem NGF wie Schweizer.

ZÜRCHER III Abkommen

Es wird nun angestrebt, das Garantiefonds-Abkommen auch mit Nicht-EWR-Staaten zu unterzeichnen (ZÜRCHER III Garantiefonds-Abkommen). Um Einheitlichkeit zu gewährleisten und zu vermeiden, soll das ZÜRCHER III Abkommen das ZÜRCHER II Abkommen ablösen. Dies bedingt, dass die Unterzeichnerstaaten des ZÜRCHER II Abkommens das neue ZÜRCHER III Abkommen unterzeichnen. Solange dieser Prozess nicht abgeschlossen ist, gilt das ZÜRCHER II Abkommen.

Das ZÜRCHER III Abkommen wurde mit den Garantiefonds der nachstehend aufgelisteten Nicht-EWR-Staaten unterzeichnet.

  • Ukraine (am 09.05.2014)
  • Türkei (am 01.11.2014)