CoB

European umbrella organisation

The Council of Bureaux (CoB) is the European umbrella organisation to which all national bureaux of insurance are affiliated. The CoB adopts binding provisions such as the Internal Regulations. The CoB's secretariat is located in Brussels.

History

The CoB was established in London in 1949. One year later, the CoB held its first official assembly in the course of which the format of the Green Card was defined. The Green Card System was introduced on 1 January 1953. In the following years, the organisation focused its attention on internationally harmonising the insurance cover and on optimising the protection of victims of road accidents by means of various agreements. Examples include the London Agreement, the Multilateral Guarantee Agreement and the Protection of Visitors Agreement.

In 1991, the CoB adopted its statute, and in 1999, the organisation celebrated its 50th anniversary in Oxford. In 2003, the CoB adopted the Internal Regulations which replaced the London Agreement and the Multilateral Guarantee Agreement and which provided a single document governing the reciprocal relations between the National Bureaux of Insurance.

Organisation

The CoB is an international non-profit organisation to which all National Bureaux of Insurance are affiliated. The General Assembly is the CoB's supreme body. In addition to the President and the Secretary-General, there are various standing committees with various functions.

Bodies

The General Assembly is composed of all the National Bureaux of Insurance that are members of the CoB.

The Management Committee is the CoB's executive. The Management Committee is composed of the President and 10 additional members elected by the General Assembly.

The President chairs the General Assembly and represents the CoB externally.

The Secretary-General is responsible for the organisation's operational business.

General Rules Committee
General questions, in particular questions relating to the Green Card.

Specific Rules Committee
In particular responsible for questions relating to the Plates Agreement.

External and internal auditors

CoB

Europäischer Dachverband

Der Council of Bureaux (CoB) ist der europäische Dachverband, dem alle nationalen Versicherungsbüros angeschlossen sind. Er erlässt verbindliche Vorschriften wie beispielsweise die Internal Regulations. Das Sekretariat befindet sich in Brüssel.

Geschichte

1949 wurde der CoB in London gegründet und ein Jahr später fand die erste offizielle Versammlung statt, in deren Verlauf man das Format der Grünen Karte festlegte. Am 1. Januar 1953 wurde das Grüne Karte-System eingeführt. In den folgenden Jahren ging es vor allem darum, mit verschiedenen Abkommen den Versicherungsschutz international zu vereinheitlichen und den Verkehrsopferschutz zu optimieren. Beispiele dafür waren das Londoner Abkommen, das Multilaterale Garantieabkommen und das Besucherschutz-Abkommen.

1991 wurden die Statuten des CoB angenommen und 1999 feierte er sein 50-jähriges Bestehen in Oxford. 2003 erliess er die Internal Regulations, die das Londoner Abkommen und das Multilaterale Garantieabkommen ablösten und die Zusammenarbeit zwischen den nationalen Versicherungsbüros einheitlich regeln.

Organisation

Der CoB ist eine internationale Non-Profit-Organisation, dem alle nationalen Versicherungsbüros angehören. Die Generalversammlung ist das oberste Organ des CoB. Neben dem Präsidenten und dem Generalsekretär gibt es verschiedene ständige Komitees, die unterschiedliche Aufgaben wahrnehmen.

Organe

Sie setzt sich aus allen nationalen Versicherungsbüros, die Mitglieder des CoB sind, zusammen.

Es ist die Exekutive des CoB. Das Management Committee besteht aus dem von der Generalversammlung gewählten Präsidenten und 10 weiteren Mitgliedern.

Er leitet die Generalversammlung und vertritt den CoB nach aussen.

Er ist für das operative Geschäft verantwortlich.

General Rules Committee
Generelle Fragen, insbes. mit Bezug zur Grünen Karte.

Specific Rules Committee
Insbes. für Fragen im Zusammenhang mit dem Kennzeichenabkommen zuständig.

Externe und interne Buchprüfer