International Agreements

ZURICH I and II Agreements

In collaboration with the Comité Européen des Assurances (CEA) and the Swiss Federal authorities, the NGF has concluded an agreement with the guarantee funds of the EEA member states – based on a predecessor bilateral agreement with a number of EU partner bureaux from the 1990s (the ZURICH I Guarantee Funds Agreement) – to ensure improved protection of injured parties within the EEA and Switzerland. This agreement is known as the ZURICH II Guarantee Funds Agreement. This agreement ensures that, in the event of an accident involving an unknown or uninsured motor vehicle, nationals of, as well as those with the right of residence in, Switzerland or the Principality of Liechtenstein will be treated in all EEA member states according to the same regulations as the ones that apply to the residents of those countries. Through this agreement, nationals of, and those with the right of residence in, an EEA member state can expect equal treatment by the NGF as received by Swiss residents.

ZURICH III Agreement

The aim is now to sign the Guarantee Funds Agreement with non-EEA countries as well (ZURICH III Guarantee Funds Agreement). In order to have a single name and to avoid misunderstandings, the ZURICH III Agreement will supersede the ZURICH II Agreement in the medium term. This will require the countries that have signed the ZURICH II Agreement to sign the new ZURICH III Agreement. As long as this process is not completed, the ZURICH II Agreement will continue to apply.

Moreover, the NGF has signed the so called ZURICH III Agreements with the Guarantee Funds of the countries listed below.

  • Ukraine (on 09.05.2014)
  • Turkey (on 01.11.2014)