History

The history of the National Guarantee Fund NGF, the National Bureau of Insurance NBI and the Council of Bureaux CoB is closely linked with the increasing mobility of motorists, both nationally and internationally. The historical process that has led to today’s well developed insurance coverage and protection of road accident victims can be illustrated by means of various agreements.

Origin of the Green Card System

In its Recommendation No. 5, which was drafted in 1949, the United Nations in Geneva (Economic Commission for Europe, Road Transport Sub-Committee) called upon the governments of the European countries to adopt common standards to ensure that road accident victims would benefit from sufficient insurance cover in the event of an accident for which a foreign motorist is liable. The idea was therefore to improve the protection of domestic victims of road accidents vis-à-vis foreign motorists who were liable so that victims of road accidents would no longer be forced to pursue their claims abroad. The following points had to be taken into consideration: On the one hand, injured parties should not suffer any disadvantage due to the fact that the accident was caused by a foreign vehicle (protection of victims of road accidents). On the other hand, when entering other countries, motorists should not be held up by tedious border formalities to comply with the national insurance requirements of the country which they wanted to enter.

The Green Card System

In order to comply with the Recommendation No. 5, the member states of the United Nations Commission for Europe have established insurance bureaux. The bureaux, recognized by the governments, are responsible for issuing international insurance cards - the so-called Green Card - that ensure that vehicle drivers entering other member states have sufficient third-party liability cover. Moreover, the bureaux are responsible for covering damages caused by vehicles from other member states equipped with such an insurance card. The Green Card system helped thus to harmonise the insurance requirements to be met when entering another country as well as cross-border claims settlement procedures within Europe.

The insurance bureaux have founded the umbrella organisation called "Council of Bureaux" and concluded various agreements in order to realise the principles provided within the Recommendation No. 5.

In order to realise the Green Card System, the CoB elaborated the agreement between bureaux - the London Agreement - named after its place of origin. The London Agreement is based on the following principles:

In each of the member states, all the motor insurers establish a National Bureau of Insurance. All of them are members of this central organisation. The National Bureau of Insurance is recognised by the government of its country. This National Bureau of Insurance generally has two functions:

  • In the role of the "Paying Bureau", the National Bureau of Insurance (NBI) supplies the Green Card - a standardised international Certificate of Insurance - to its members who issue the Card to their policyholders. The "Paying Bureau" is responsible for fulfilling the obligations to the "Handling Bureau" and is secondarily liable - along with the insurer - for the performance of the obligations under the latter's contract and/or under the Green Card and the insurance Agreements.

  • In the role of the "Handling Bureau", the NBI is generally responsible for setting cross-border third-party claims arising from accidents involving foreign motor vehicles with a Green Card or, pursuant to the Plates Agreement, from accidents caused on its territory. The "Handling Bureau" may settle a claim in accordance with the provisions of the international insurance agreements and its national law. In the event of a loss, the Bureau of the visited country will settle the claim and guarantee that the claimants will be indemnified by the insurer, if the latter has been identified.

Through the Green Card, the issuing National Bureau of Insurance guarantees that the insured has sufficient insurance cover abroad, i.e. if there is an accident, this document provides cover amounting to the minimum sum insured at the time of the accident in the country visited. The Green Card is recognised by the member states like an insurance policy.

The Bureaux ensure among themselves that the expenses incurred for the settlement of claims will be reimbursed. The Bureau that has issued the Green Card must guarantee the reimbursement of all claims-related expenses with the proviso that the expenses must be substantiated by documentary evidence. First and foremost, however, the Bureau’s members (insurers) will have to pay these expenses. The actual sum refunded to the “Handling Bureau” is composed of the compensation paid, the external expenses for the settlement of the claim, and a handling fee precisely defined by the Council of Bureaux (CoB) for the purpose of covering all other expenses. This means that the sum that is refunded covers not only the actual compensation paid to the injured party but also a handling fee for the settlement of the Claim.

All National Bureaux of Insurance are nowadays also members of a central umbrella organisation, the Council of Bureaux (CoB). The CoB is responsible for ensuring that the Green Card System works properly. The CoB’s secretariat is in Brussels.

The London Agreement was replaced on 1 July 2003 by the Internal Regulations.

Green Card...
CoB...

Under the "Multilateral Guarantee Agreement between National Insurers' Bureaux" - also referred to as the "Plates Agreement" - a motor vehicle's registration plates replace the Green Card as proof of the fact that the vehicle is covered by insurance abroad. As time went by, more and more countries issued registration plates only if vehicles were covered by motor insurance. As a result, motorists no longer needed an additional certificate of insurance. For this reason, many countries stopped checking motorists to see if they had a Green Card.

An EC Directive of the year 1972 reflected this development and provided that vehicles normally based in a member state of the European Community no longer needed a Green Card when entering another member state. This EC Directive provided a platform for the Multilateral Guarantee Agreement, which today applies not only in the European Union (and the European Economic Area) but also in Andorra, Monaco, San Marino, Serbia, the Vatican and Switzerland.

Under this Agreement, the "territory in which the vehicle is normally based" always means "the territory of the State of which the vehicle bears a registration plate". This is important because, for the Multilateral Guarantee Agreement to apply, a vehicle must be normally based in the country of a signatory bureau. As the name indicates, this Agreement applies multilaterally among the signatory countries.

The Multilateral Guarantee Agreement was signed on 15 March 1991 and applied to accidents that had occurred after 1 June 1991. The principles of this Agreement continue to apply today in the new agreement, the Internal Regulations (Règlement Général), which entered into force on 1 July 2003.

The official "False Plates Agreement", which was signed by all the bureaux of the Multilateral Guarantee Agreement, entered into force on 1 October 1993. This Agreement provided that if a vehicle with false or falsified registration plates was involved in an accident, any resulting claim had to be settled by the country which had issued the last regular registration plates to the vehicle concerned. This provision remained in effect until the end of June 2003. Article 11.2 of the Internal Regulations, which entered into force on 1 July 2003, stipulates that if a vehicle with false registration plates is involved in an accident, the territory in which the accident occurred is deemed to be the territory where the vehicle was normally based; any resulting claim therefore has to be settled by the guarantee fund of the country in which the accident had occurred.

The Internal Regulations (French: Règlement Général), which were adopted at the 2002 General Assembly of the Council of Bureaux (CoB), entered into force on 1 July 2003. The Internal Regulations replace the London Agreement and the Multilateral Guarantee Agreement, and provide a single document governing the reciprocal relations between National Bureaux of Insurance. The principles of the former agreement continue to apply in the agreement now in force.

Internal Regulations...

The Agreement between Bureaux on the Protection of Visitors (EU/EEA) which the National Bureau of Insurance (NBI) has concluded since 1 February 2003 with all EEA member states have been another milestone in terms of improving the protection of victims of road accidents. Under these agreements, persons (visitors) who are victims of an accident while abroad can pursue their claims against the foreign motor insurer through the latter's representative in their own country of residence. The representative will settle the claims in accordance with the law of the country in which the accident occurred and as instructed by the foreign insurer.

Protection of Visitors...

The Green Card System and/or the agreements mentioned above guarantee that the Green Card or the vehicle registration plates will be accepted as sufficient proof that a motor vehicle is adequately insured when entering another country. Foreign motor vehicles that enter another country are deemed to meet the minimum insurance requirements in the country visited. As a result, third party claims arising from accidents abroad will be settled in accordance with the minimum standards applying in the country where the accident occurred. In addition, claims will be settled by a representative of the foreign insurer approved by the national bureau of insurance.

Geschichte

Die Geschichte des Nationalen Garantiefonds NGF, des Nationalen Versicherungsbüros NVB und des Council of Bureaux CoB ist eng mit der zunehmenden Mobilität im In-und Ausland verbunden. Der historische Prozess, der zu einem heute gut ausgebauten Versicherungs- und Verkehrsopferschutz geführt hat, zeigt sich anhand verschiedener Abkommen.

Ursprung des Grüne Karte-Systems

Die von der Kommission der Vereinten Nationen in Europa (UNO - Economic Commission for Europe, Road Traffic Sub-Committee) im Jahre 1949 ausgearbeitete Empfehlung Nr. 5 lud die Regierungen der europäischen Länder ein, mit vereinheitlichten Standards dafür zu sorgen, dass Verkehrsopfer bei einem Unfall, in dem ein ausländischer Automobilist haftpflichtig wird, einen genügenden Versicherungsschutz erhalten. Sinn und Zweck der Empfehlung bestanden folglich darin, den Schutz von inländischen Verkehrsopfern gegenüber ausländischen Haftpflichtigen zu verbessern. Es sollte vermieden werden, dass Verkehrsopfer ihre Ansprüche im Ausland verfolgen müssen. Zudem sollten folgende Ziele erreicht werden. Auf der einen Seite sollten die Geschädigten nicht dadurch benachteiligt sein, dass der Unfall durch ein ausländisches Fahrzeug verursacht wurde (Verkehrsopferschutz). Auf der anderen Seite sollten Automobilisten bei der Einreise ins Ausland nicht durch zeitraubende und kostspielige Grenzformalitäten aufgehalten werden, weil sie die jeweiligen Versicherungsbestimmungen des Landes, in das sie einreisen wollen, zu erfüllen hatten.

Das Grüne Karte-System

Um der Empfehlung Nr. 5 nachzukommen, wurden in den Mitgliedstaaten der Kommission der Vereinten Nationen in Europa Versicherungsbüros gegründet. Diese durch die Regierungen ankerkannten Büros sind für die Herausgabe von internationalen Versicherungskarten – der Grünen Karte - verantwortlich, die Fahrzeugführern bei der Einfahrt in andere Mitgliedstaaten einen ausreichenden Haftpflichtversicherungsschutz bescheinigen. Zudem sind diese Büros für die Deckung der Schäden, die durch Fahrzeuge aus anderen Mitgliedstaaten verursacht werden und eine derartige Versicherungskarte mitführen, zuständig. Das Grüne Karte-System bewirkte somit eine Vereinheitlichung der einreisebedingten Versicherungsvoraussetzungen und harmonisierte die grenzüberschreitende Schadenregulierung innerhalb Europa.

Die Versicherungsbüros organisierten sich im Rahmen eines Dachverbandes, dem Council of Bureaux, und schlossen diverse Abkommen ab, um die in der Empfehlung Nr. 5 vorgesehenen Prinzipien umzusetzen.

Um das Grüne Karte-System praktisch zu verwirklichen, wurde vom Council of Bureaux das Abkommen zwischen Büros erarbeitet, das nach seinem Entstehungsort „Londoner Abkommen“ genannt wird. Das Abkommen basiert auf den folgenden Grundlagen.

In jedem Mitgliedstaat bilden die Motorfahrzeug-Haftpflicht-Versicherer zusammen ein nationales Versicherungsbüro. Bei dieser zentralen Organisation sind sie Mitglied. Das nationale Versicherungsbüro wird von den jeweiligen Regierungen des Mitgliedstaates anerkannt. Dieses nationale Versicherungsbüro hat grundsätzlich zwei Aufgaben:

  • In der Funktion des „Zahlenden Büros“ gibt das nationale Versicherungsbüro über seine Mitglieder an die Versicherungsnehmer die Grüne Karte, ein vereinheitlichtes internationales Versicherungsdokument, heraus. Es ist für die Erfüllung der Verpflichtungen gegenüber dem "Behandelnden Büro" verantwortlich und haftet subsidiär, neben dem Versicherer, für die Erfüllung der Verpflichtungen aus dessen Vertrag bzw. aus der Grünen Karte und den Versicherungsabkommen.

  • In der Funktion als „Behandelndes Büro" reguliert das nationale Versicherungsbüro grundsätzlich grenzüberschreitende Haftpflichtschäden, die von ausländischen Motorfahrzeugen mit Grüner Karte oder basierend auf dem Kennzeichenabkommen auf seinem Hoheitsgebiet verursacht werden. Dabei kann es den Schadenfall gemäss den Bestimmungen in den internationalen Versicherungsabkommen und den gesetzlichen Vorgaben in seinem Land regulieren. Im Schadenfall hat das Büro des besuchten Landes die Regulierung vorzunehmen und garantiert gegenüber den Anspruchstellern dafür, dass der Versicherer – soweit ausgewiesen - Ersatz leistet.

Die Grüne Karte garantiert durch das jeweils herausgebende nationale Versicherungsbüro, dass der Versicherungsnehmer im Ausland über einen ausreichenden Versicherungsschutz verfügt, das heisst, bei einem Schadenfall gibt dieses Dokument Schutz in der Höhe der zum Unfallzeitpunkt geltenden Mindesthaftpflichtsumme des jeweils besuchten Landes. Die Grüne Karte wird von den Mitgliedstaaten wie eine Versicherungspolice anerkannt.

Die Büros stellen untereinander sicher, dass die Aufwendungen für die Schadenregulierung ersetzt werden. Das Büro, welches die Grüne Karte ausgegeben hat, muss die Rückerstattung aller schadenbedingten Kosten unter Vorbehalt des Auslagennachweises garantieren. In erster Linie aber haben seine Mitglieder (Versicherer) für diese Verbindlichkeiten aufzukommen. Diese Rückerstattung an das "Behandelnde Büro" setzt sich aus der bezahlten Entschädigung, den externen Aufwendungen für die Regulierung des Schadens sowie einer vom Council of Bureaux (CoB) genau umrissenen Behandlungsgebühr zur Deckung aller anderen Kosten zusammen. Damit ist nicht nur der reine Schadenaufwand zu ersetzen, sondern auch eine Gebühr für die Schadenregulierung.

Alle nationalen Versicherungsbüros sind auch heute noch einem zentralen Dachverband angeschlossen, dem Council of Bureaux (CoB). Dieser ist für das Funktionieren des Grüne Karte-Systems verantwortlich. Das Sekretariat des CoB ist in Brüssel.

Das Londoner Abkommen wurde am 1.7.2003 durch die Internal Regulations abgelöst.

Grüne Karte...
CoB...

Beim "Multilateralen Garantieabkommen zwischen nationalen Versicherungsbüros" - auch "Kennzeichenabkommen" oder "Schilderabkommen" genannt - tritt anstelle der Grünen Karte das Kennzeichen des Motorfahrzeuges als Nachweis des Versicherungsschutzes im Ausland. Mit der Zeit gaben immer mehr Staaten das amtliche Kennzeichen nur unter der Voraussetzung ab, dass eine Haftpflichtversicherung bestand. So brauchte der Automobilist keine zusätzliche Versicherungsbescheinigung mehr. Darum verzichteten viele Staaten darauf, den Besitz einer Grünen Karte zu kontrollieren.

Eine EG-Richtlinie aus dem Jahre 1972 trug diesem Anliegen Rechnung und bestimmte, dass bei Fahrzeugen mit gewöhnlichem Standort in einem Mitgliedstaat keine Grüne Karte mehr zur Einreise in einen anderen Mitgliedstaat benötigt wurde. Diese EG-Richtlinie diente als Ausgangsbasis für das Multilaterale Garantieabkommen, welches heute über die EU (samt EWR) hinaus auch in Andorra, Monaco, San Marino, Serbien, im Vatikanstaat und in der Schweiz gilt.

Gemäss diesem Abkommen versteht man grundsätzlich unter dem "Land, in dem das Fahrzeug seinen gewöhnlichen Standort" hat, das "Gebiet des Staates, dessen amtliches Kennzeichen das Fahrzeug trägt". Der Begriff ist deshalb wichtig, weil für die Anwendung des Multilateralen Garantieabkommens ein Fahrzeug seinen gewöhnlichen Standort im Land eines Unterzeichnungsbüros haben muss. Dieses Abkommen ist, wie es der Name bereits ausdrückt, multilateral im Verkehr unter den Unterzeichnerländern anwendbar.

Das Multilaterale Garantieabkommen wurde am 15. März 1991 unterzeichnet und galt für Schadenfälle, die sich nach dem 1. Juni 1991 ereigneten. Die Grundsätze dieses Abkommens gelten heute im neuen Abkommen, den Internal Regulations (Règlement Général), weiter, welches am 1.7.2003 in Kraft trat.

Am 1. Oktober 1993 trat das offizielle "Falsche-Schilder-Abkommen" in Kraft, das von allen Büros des Multilateralen Garantieabkommens unterzeichnet wurde. Sollte ein Fahrzeug falsche oder gefälschte Schilder haben, dann war nun das Land zuständig, das die letzten regulären Schilder ausgestellt hatte. Diese Regelung galt bis Ende Juni 2003. Seit dem 1.7.2003 gilt nach Art. 11.2 der Internal Regulations, dass bei falschen Kennzeichen der Unfallort als regulärer Standort des Fahrzeuges gilt, weshalb der Garantiefonds des Unfalllandes deckungspflichtig wird.

Am 1. Juli 2003 sind die an der Generalversammlung 2002 des Council of Bureaux (CoB) angenommenen Internal Regulations (franz. Règlement Général) in Kraft getreten. Sie lösen das Londoner Abkommen und das Multilaterale Garantieabkommen ab und regeln einheitlich die Zusammenarbeit zwischen den nationalen Versicherungsbüros. Die grundsätzlichen Regeln des alten Abkommens gelten im neuen Abkommen weiter.

Internal Regulations...

Ein weiterer Meilenstein in Sachen Verkehrsopferschutz sind die Besucherschutz-Abkommen, welche die Schweiz bzw. das Nationale Versicherungsbüro (NVB) seit dem 1. Februar 2003 mit allen EWR-Mitgliedstaaten abgeschlossen hat. Sie geben einer Person, die im Ausland einen Unfall erleidet (Besucher), die Möglichkeit, den Schaden gegenüber dem ausländischen Haftpflichtversicherer in ihrem Wohnsitzland bei dessen Vertreter geltend zu machen. Dieser reguliert die Ansprüche nach dem Recht des Unfalllandes und nach den Instruktionen des ausländischen Versicherers.

Besucherschutz...

Das Grüne Karte-System bzw. die erwähnten Abkommen garantieren, dass die Grüne Karte respektive die Fahrzeugkennzeichen als genügender Versicherungsnachweis für die Einreise in ein besuchtes Land akzeptiert werden. Die einreisenden ausländischen Motorfahrzeuge gelten als versichert und zwar zu den im besuchten Land jeweils vorgeschriebenen Versicherungsminima. Auf diese Weise sind Haftpflichtansprüche im Ausland nach den dort jeweils geltenden Mindeststandards gedeckt. Ausserdem erfolgt die Schadenregulierung durch einen vom nationalen Versicherungsbüro genehmigten Vertreter des ausländischen Versicherers.